On red herrings.

<We’re reading the end of our book, when my 4th period today starts losing it.>
“UM, Miss V…”
“Just a minute, we’re like a paragraph away.”
“But no, but-“
“SOMEONE’S HERE.”
“OK, and I’ll get to them in a minute.”
“NO, MISS. NOW.”
<I turn and see a high schooler holding a small tower of diaper boxes and wipes.>
“Oh! Great!”
<Delivery child and I have a mini-conversation about who they’re from, where to put them, etc. while my class stays COMPLETELY silent.>
“Okay, so we left off at-“
“MISS.”
“I’ll find it, just a minute-“
“YOU CAN’T JUST ACT NORMAL NOW.”
“What?”
“Do you maybe have something to tell us?”
“Those diapers are not for me.”
“OH. Oh, good.”
“You scared us.”
“We were worried about you!”
“High-five, Miss, no babies!”

Leave a Reply

